Bonus Pie … pizza?

I was a slacker last week and posted no pie. Sorry! I was participating in Global Game Jam over the weekend and had no time to bake.

As an apology I will post two pies this week. But this is not a regular type of pie… it is a pizza pie.

Tomato Basil Pesto Pizza

A vegetarian pizza pie. Not that I am a vegetarian, but this is an excellent pizza without the meat that I enjoy anyway.

This recipe is copyright Cooking Lite and I won’t reproduce it, so, to find it where I found it, go here: Spark Recipes: Garden Tomato Basil Pesto Pizza.

This recipe was a total stumble-on for me… I had won a tub of pesto in a food gift basket at a charity raffle at my school, and wasn’t sure what to do with it.

Here are the ingredients, except the cheese. I used pre-shredded mozzarella rather than slices on this… it’s still good.

Pizza ingredients

Oh, ignore the Browns cup; that doesn’t go in the pizza.

The recipe says that you’ll need two tomatoes, but really about one and a half makes two cups chopped.  For making two pizzas, as I did, three large tomatoes was perfect.

Also, I don’t recommend a cookie sheet. For home pizza goodness, a pizza stone is definitely preferred:

Pizza Stone

A random recipe, but I love it. Very filling, attractive, and guilt-free! And the fresh chopped basil smells amazing.

Leave a Reply

