Falling in Love Chocolate Mousse Pie

Alternate titles for this blog entry:

  • One of the Pies from That Movie Waitress Pie
  • Falling in Love with Nathan Fillion Chocolate Mousse Pie

Waitress is one of those movies you see when you really like pie.  It’s an indie film about a woman who bakes pies and has an affair with Nathan Fillion, (aka Mal on Firefly) (aka the reason a Firefly fan would watch this movie and then stumble across recipes for pie).

Recipes were originally transcribed here.  The Falling in Love pie seemed like the easiest pie to make off the bat. There’s no way I’m risking that Marshmallow Mermaid Pie; it sounds like the biggest sugar rush imaginable. Maybe if I had kids.  Since I’m focusing so far on one-crust pies for this blog, until we get to the harder stuff, Falling in Love it is. If this seems too early, on Valentine’s Day I will probably make another type of chocolate pie for all you romantics.

First you’ll need a pre-baked, bottom-only pie crust. Got that? Good.

Here are the ingredients for the filling:

14 oz can sweetened condensed milk
1 package of chocolate pudding mix (not instant)
2/3 cup water
1 square bakers chocolate
1 pint of whipping cream

Last time I just made things easy and just used Cool Whip topping, but that won’t work this time… You’re going to need to whip up the cream. This is, however, still easy; just use a beater.

Whipping Cream

Whipping Cream

Whipped Cream

Whipped Cream!

Note that there’s no sugar or anything in this, so even if it looks just like dessert topping, it tastes like… well, plain cream.

All the other ingredients go on a pot on the stove.

Making chocolate mousse

Heat this until the bakers chocolate melts, stirring frequently.  Mine ended up having some small ‘flecks’ of chocolate in it that never quite fused in, but this I thought was rather attractive and is tasty.

Chill both ingredients until the pudding mix sets up a bit, then mix them together.

Finished mousse filling

I will warn you that this recipe makes a bit too much filling. I had about a cup that wouldn’t fit in to the pie crust at all. I put it in to small cups and refrigerated, as the filling is delicious on its own.

Falling in Love Pie

Pour the filling in to the crust of the pie, and refrigerate at least 4 hours, or overnight, etc.

Verdict: This is a tasty pie, but primarily its strength is how easy it is to make. I have actually had better, if more elaborate, chocolate pies (I’ll post my French Silk on a later date).  I think I will make this again, but the plain crust doesn’t really do it for me. I think it would be much improved by an Oreo-cookie crust base to bring out the flavor of the mousse, so that will be my next experiment with this easy Waitress pie recipe!

One response to this post.

  1. […] it all the way through. It needs to set up overnight. At first blush it reminds me a lot of the Falling in Love Chocolate Mousse Pie only with a berry base instead of chocolate. I think they would be charming mixed together in a […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

