Chocolate Covered Strawberry Pie

Happy… President’s Day?  This is the pie I made for my sweetheart on Valentine’s. Maybe I should’ve made and posted it a week earlier so you can make it for your Valentine, too, but I’m still getting used to this weekly update thing.

This is another Waitress-inspired pie, though some liberties were taken on this one.  During the love scene she makes a very romantic pie called the Lonely Chicago Pie.  I don’t think they ever recite the recipe exactly, but I found a close recipe and did a little more reverse engineering to up the romance factor.

Chocolate Covered Strawberry Pie

So here we have our chocolate covered strawberries, and under that a layer of chocolate-strawberry filling. Not visible: the cinnamon-sugar layer that’s sitting underneath that, which gives this pie a great mixed mingled flavor.

This time I used a slightly larger pie plate, a 9 1/2 inch glass Pyrex.  In that, make the usual crust; don’t bake it yet.

Hooray to my messy flour-coated kitchen

To this we’re adding a mix of wet and dry ingredients.

Cinnamon Sugar mix

Dry:
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 tbsp cinnamon
1 tbsp flour
1/2 tsp salt

Wet:
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 tbsp melted butter (salted is Ok for this)
1 1/2 cups milk

Mix all the dry up together, then beat the egg, and add the rest of the wet ingredients to the wet bowl. Then mix that. Looks like I forgot to take a picture of this step, but after mixing everything together you have a buttery-cinnamony concoction that you pour right into the pie crust.  It’s liquid, so bake for a fairly long time – about 50 minutes at 350 degrees, until it is cooked through and doesn’t slosh.

Cinnamon base

Here I deviate from the recipe I originally had because I wanted more chocolate berry flavor. Here’s the ingredients for the topping:

2 cups fresh strawberries
2 tbsp butter
1 bag milk chocolate chips
Strawberry garnish as desired

Heart Berries

I took a few of the handsomest strawberries, and, with a small knife, cut them in to hearts. I’m not much of a pastry decorator so I can say with certainty that anyone can do this step.  Just cut the berry in half and snip a notch out of the top.

The rest all get mashed up slightly.

Mashed Berry Pie

Spread the mashed berries on to the pie and put it back in the oven for about 15 minutes (still at 35o) to firm up the pie a little more. You can see here that I also put foil around the edge of my pie crust, which, with a longer bake time like this pie has, will prevent it from burning. This is a useful trick to do.

Chocolate Chips

While your pie is finishing up, put your chocolate chips and topping butter in to a bowl, and melt. I used the microwave for this; 30 seconds, stir, another 30 seconds, done. You can use a double-boiler though if you want.

Chocolate Heartberries

Dip the hearts in your chocolate mixture for a totally twee garnish.

Pour the rest of the chocolate mixture on the pie and spread it.  I found it swirled a little bit rather than making a consistent coating, but this is a sort of pretty effect.

Let the pie cool a bit before serving, as the chocolate is still sticky. Serves up to 8 Valentines but you’ll probably just want to share it with one!

Chocolate Strawberry Pie

(one of these days I’ll have a crust that doesn’t partially break and spoil the presentation… heh, still tasty though)

Leave a Reply

