Bad Baby Pie

Happy Day After Easter!

I’m going to make another pie from Waitress. I’ve wanted to make this one for a while but I rarely have one of the main ingredients just laying around the house, which is, cooked ham.  Fortunately today is the day after Easter, and there are leftovers aplenty to be had.  If you have some leftover cooked ham, you might try making this this week too.

I Don't Want Earl's Baby Pie

Anyway, this is called Bad Baby Pie, also called I Don’t Want Earl’s Baby Pie.  In the movie she originally calls it the second thing but then uses the “sanitized” first name when she actually sells it at the restaurant.  I kind of like the simpler name better.  Not that I want Earl’s Baby. I don’t even know Earl.

Here’s what you need:

1pie crust (make it yourself!)
1 1/2 to 2 cups chopped cooked ham
8 green onions
2 tbsp butter
1 cup Brie cheese (about one wheel)
1 cup grated Parmesan  cheese
6 eggs
1 cup Heavy Cream
1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg

If you find this recipe elsewhere on the internet my recipe is slightly different.  This is because the ratio of eggs to cream in what I found was way off.  I wanted the pie to be eggy and hold together well and make for an edible brunch or breakfast, not fall apart in to cream soup. This is the second Waitress pie I’ve made where the recipe called for too much cream, so, I guess that movie was filmed in an alternate universe where heavy cream has slightly different properties in cooking, and poor people who go to a diner can easily afford to experiment in baking with multiple wheels of Brie.

piecrust

First things first – make a crust.  I haven’t made a regular one in a while! Pre-bake for ten minutes at about 400 degrees. Put foil around the edges to keep the crust from browning too much.

Ham and Green Onions

Chopped ham, and green onions.  I added the butter first, sautéed the onions in it, then added the ham cubes and rolled them around just to warm them up and brown them a bit.  Perhaps I am supposed to cook these things separately but this was Ok for me.

Toss this in to the bottom of your pie crust after it comes out from pre-baking. Then add cheese.

Brie

Brie is a delicious soft cheese that runs a little on the pricy side. In a wheel form it has a rind which you can remove, or can be bought by the wedge as well.  Dice it up, add this to the top of the ham, then add the Parmesan on top of that.

Assembling Bad Baby

Now mix up your egg and cream mixture, adding the nutmeg.  It should be more egg than cream, at least in my opinion!  Add that to the top of the assembled pie.

Egg Pie

If some of it falls out and runs on to the back of your stove because your silly apartment stove isn’t entirely level please just ignore that that happened. …Yeah.

Anyway, now bake for about 35 minutes at 350 degrees.  A knife inserted in to the baby… um, I mean, the pie, should come out clean, so be patient with this one unless you like liquid egg.

Bad Baby Pie Eaten

Delicious! Great breakfast or brunch or even lunch pie, which is what it turned out to be for us.  As you can see we had seconds.

No babies, well-mannered or otherwise, were harmed in the creation of this pie.

7 responses to this post.

  1. […] recipe that bakes up kind of funny (the originally stated recipe).  I personally suggest putting a half-dozen eggs in this pie. But maybe I’m just not a great quiche-maker and the originally stated 4, in the […]

    Reply

  2. Posted by Anjie B. on May 18, 2011 at 9:57 pm

    I made this recipe for my Movie MOMS group after watching Waitress for one of our monthly movies. It was SO yummy! I like the ratio of egg/cream and all the cheese was delish. It was the perfect afternoon meal to go along with our discussion, thanks for posting it!

    Reply

  3. Posted by bribri on August 18, 2011 at 10:02 am

    OH my goodness this is the best PIE ever ! my whole family loved it ! well done !!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Ashley K on March 14, 2014 at 4:29 pm

    I baked this for our Pi Day Pie Contest at work, and it was a HUGE hit! I didn’t win, but it was the first pie that was gone when my coworkers had the pie free-for-all.

    A few notes:
    • I used a pre-made Marie Callender pie crust because I’m still new at baking and needed at least ONE corner to cut. I don’t know if it was smaller than the pie crust above, but I had a lot of leftover egg/cream mix. Like, 1/4 left over.
    • 8 green onions seemed like a whole lot, so I only used 4
    • I used 1 cup of cooked ham and 1/2 cup of cooked bacon for the meat

    I made 2 pies, 1 the night before to test it out and 1 the morning of the contest. The night before, I baked it for about 30 minutes on 350° then watched it for 5-10 minutes, testing with a knife to see if it came out clean. Then I broiled it for 4 minutes to get a really nice, crispy top layer. The second time, I got mixed up with a recipe on a different site, and ended up baking for 40 minutes on 325°. I didn’t check it and it came out burnt to a crisp. I was so sad!

    I brought in the test pie to the contest, though, and everyone loved it! They’re already asking me to make another! Thanks for posting this 🙂

    Reply

    • Posted by Ashley K on May 6, 2014 at 3:28 pm

      FYI! My OVEN was broken after the first pie. The second pie wasn’t burnt because of the recipe’s bake time, it was my oven.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

