Summit Club Pie

I had no particular plan for this week’s pie.  I was flipping through my Big Book of Pie recipes (it is a very big book) looking for something to do, and was through the S section. Right between several variations on Strawberry-Rhubarb and “Tomato Pie” (interesting…) is this pie. My husband asked, “What’s Summit Club?” I had no idea so I had to make it.

Summit Club Pies

This is in essence a fruit salad pie, with a whipped cream/Cool Whip base.  The fruit is all canned so you can make it year-round but I know I feel like having fruit in springtime and summer.

There is a sort of downside to this pie. I’m sure you can see what it is.  It actually makes two pies.  The recipe is sort of hard to ‘half’ because you’ll be taking a half-can of this and a half-can of that. Fortunately I have a bake sale later this week and Cool Whip easily freezes.  The first pie of course was kept for taste test purposes. You can’t be too careful.

HomeMade Graham Cracker Crust

Step 1: Graham cracker crust. You need two of them.  Mine are home made. I think making this yourself is an important step (see my Key Lime article for how). Store-bought pre-made will hold together a bit better but isn’t as tasty.

Canned Fruit

Filling:

1 (14 oz) can Sweetened Condensed Milk
1/3 cup lemon juice
2 (11 oz) cans Mandarin Oranges
1  (15 1/2 oz) can Crushed Pineapple
2 cups Pecans (chopped)
1 tub of Non-Dairy Whipped Topping

Milk and Lemon

Put the canned milk and lemon juice in a big bowl.

Drained Canned Fruit

Drain canned fruit, and add. Stir it up.

Adding Pecans to Fruit

Add pecans.  My mom sent this big bag of pecans all the way from Georgia.  I could’ve just eaten them whole, but to be honest, I kind of wanted an excuse to use them in a recipe just because I like cooking.  I didn’t chop them up very much. They’re delicious as-is.

Fold in

Fold in your whipped cream/Non-dairy/Cool Whip Tub.

Then when it’s all nice and mixed up, pour in to pie crusts, put in fridge to chill.  You can actually dig in right away, though if you give it a couple hours in the fridge it sets up better, or you can freeze.

Results are as the first picture shown above. OK, not much to look at, but this is actually a really tasty pie!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Matt W. on April 13, 2010 at 11:51 am

    (cannot get the name out of my head….)

    SCENE: Yalta, 1944.

    CHURCHILL, STALIN, and ROOSEVELT sit a large round table. THE PIE, with several slices missing, sits between them all.

    STALIN: “Hmph. Pie for summit. How American.”

    ROOSEVELT does not answer. He is lost in the contemplation of some notes, pausing only to take a bite of the slice at his side.

    CHURCHILL: “You know, Josef…it -is- quite a good pie.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

