Pineapple Cream Pie

This week my plan was to make an avocado pie.  I know, doesn’t that sound wacky?  It would’ve been sort of quirky and then I might start going through the alphabet with pies, A for avocado and B for banana or something like that….

Well, I brought home avocados from the grocery store thinking they would ripen up a bit over a few days, and they didn’t. My avocado yesterday was still hard as a rock, and not at all suitable for pie filling.  But I had already pre-baked a 9 inch pie shell and it was on the stove ready to be filled with… something!  So, I had to have a backup plan.  I do have a can of pineapple left over from last week’s experiment, and I have some eggs, so… Pineapple Meringue.  Is that a thing? It is now I guess.

Pineapple Cream Pie

I have a lot of pie recipes, so here’s the one I used for this filling:

2 cups milk
3/4 cup sugar
3 egg yolks
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup flour
2 tablespoons butter
1 can crushed pineapple (drained)

Put the milk in a pot on the stove, and start heating it up. You don’t want to boil it, because this is a sort of delicate cream that can burn and then won’t be very tasty.  Then you mix up everything except the pineapple in a separate bowl, and slowly add it to the heated milk.

Cream filling

I guess I didn’t take a lot of pictures of this process until I had already added most of the ingredients. All you have to do here now though is stir it until it’s smooth, thickening, and not lumpy. This time the flour is your thickening agent in this.

Then add the pineapple.

Pineapple Cream Filling

I only recommend this pie if you really like pineapple.

Pour this in to your 9 inch already-baked crust…

Pineapple filling in a pie

Ta da. Now you can top with whipped cream if you prefer, or use your leftover egg whites to make meringue.

Pineapple Meringue

There was a time in my life when I could not get a meringue to set up for the life of me, but with the right bowl, the right beater, and perfectly separated eggs it now comes together every time. Practice makes perfect.  Also when spreading meringue you are required to make curls or other friendly designs because that’s part of the fun of it.

Pineapple Meringue Pie

Put this back in the oven, at 375 for about 8 minutes or until the meringue has this lovely golden brown finish.  Wait for it all to cool before digging in.

Leave a Reply

