Avocado Lime Pie

I finally made this, because I was just so curious about it, and I managed to get a ripe avocado at the store.

Avocado Pie

Now, my confession: it probably wasn’t worth it.  Coming from someone who actually likes avocado in desserts at times, the final result of this a bit off.  I think its chief failing is it didn’t really come out as good as a proper key lime pie, while using the same ingredients more or less. If you had an urge to make this, you may as well just make a proper key lime pie, which is decadent and delicious, instead of this which just wasn’t right for some reason.  It’s too sickly sweet, and it’s really hard to get over the “ugh, what am I EATING” factor in the texture.

In the interest of full disclosure, here’s how I made it (but, don’t).

1 9-inch pie crust (pre-baked)

Filling:
1 avocado, mashed
1/2 cup lime juice (fresh is probably better, I used bottled stuff this time; no idea if that contributed to my fail)
2 egg yolks
1 pinch of salt
1 can sweetened, condensed milk

Pie snot

Put all in bowl. Mix until slightly less gross.

Pie snot 2

Then pour in to pie crust.

Refrigerate overnight.

And yeah, that means raw egg.  Normally I don’t worry about raw egg, though, as some really great pies use them, but here it’s just another thing.

Top with nuts if desired.

Avocado Lime Pie Slice

It holds together pretty well at least.

You know, I’m making one a week; they won’t all be winners.  Next week I’ll buy more berries!

Leave a Reply

