Butterscotch Pie – Buttermilk Crust

First, just to prove I did in fact make the 4th of July Pie, here’s a couple pictures –

pie crust ball

Buttermilk custard

Above is the prepared buttermilk custard…

Baked buttermilk custard

Shown here, after baking…

Fourth of July Pie

And… results! Looks just like the professional one if I do say so myself.

This pie was pretty idiot-proof.  The taste was pretty solid, though this is probably the only occasion I’d actually make it for; it just doesn’t feel like an everyday dessert.

A word about the crust. This is a buttermilk crust, since I had it laying around.  It’s a bit easier to work with than a regular crust and comes out pretty good. Standard recipe is to replace half the shortening with butter as well, then add the buttermilk instead of water to the flour and salt base.  I used 2 cups of flour so I actually had a 2-crust pie, but the custard pie only used up half of that. Fortunately, crusts freeze no problem; just leave them on the counter to thaw for a while when you’re ready to use.

I have some more blueberries also ready to go (yum) but in this case I only had a bottom crust, and blueberries are more of a double-crust pie.  This is a butterscotch pie recipe that turned out to be very sweet and rich. A half-slice of this baby will probably do you.

For this, pre-bake your crust.

First get a can of sweetened condensed milk, and add about 2/3 of that can in water to that, in a pot on the stove.

Milk, on the stove

To this add a bag of butterscotch morsels. You know the things; they look like chocolate chips but are butterscotch. Really, I imagine you could do this with other varieties of morsels, but that has not been attempted.

Butterscotch

Now, um, this direction I think I read wrong or something, but I know this works, just don’t mix it the way I did.

3 tbsp cornstarch
2/3 cup sugar
3 egg yolks (reserve the whites for topping)

Mix.  Don’t use the beater. That doesn’t work. That was my folly. You get crazy egg glops.

egg glops, yum

… Like that. Moving on. Anyway, mix it better than that, then fold it in to the melted butterscotch, carefully.  Pouring back and forth from one pot to another.

Cook it until it boils, stirring a lot. You want it to thicken up but not burn.

Then pour in to prepared crust.

Butterscotch pie in progress

Use the reserved eggs to make meringue. I do this a lot, do it whatever way you are most comfortable with.

Spread on the top of the pie, to the edges, and bake at 325 degrees. This one went in a little longer than usual, about 20 minutes, for an all-over brown coating.

Butterscotch Pie

I had an Amish butterscotch pie that was quite good once but this is not quite it. This one is more of a thick, rich filling that tastes directly like candy. As I said before, use caution when cutting this one, you probably don’t want a thick piece, but it is quite good and the smell is great.

Leave a Reply

