Peach Pie

Hey internet, I got a new kitchen!  It’s so much cleaner and larger than my old kitchen!

Here’s a pie I made!

Peach Pie

Another classic summer fruit pie.  Our new place has a Trader Joe’s nearby, and I walked in thinking, I will make a nice fruit pie out of whatever is on special.  And I saw these!

Peaches

Looked and smelled good, so I turned them in to this:

The flesh of seven peaches

This is seven peaches, sliced up. There were more than that in the flat, so I have a few left for lunches.  I also peel the skin off the peaches. With some trial and error I found the best way is to cut your peach in to quarters, then slowly peel the skin off of each quarter with your fingers by starting at the triangle tip on the top.  If the peach is the right ripeness it peels off in one sheet if you’re careful. Sorry there’s no picture of this though; it’s fun but requires two hands.

The rest of this is a standard Betty Crocker recipe, nothing fancy. She hasn’t really done me wrong when it comes to pies.

First make your bottom crust. Heat oven to 425 degrees.

Then add

Dry goods for peach pie

2/3 cup sugar
1/3 cup flour
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

to a bowl, and mix.

Peaches filling

Your peaches (about 6 cups)
1 teaspoon lemon juice

Mix it all up, then throw it in to the pie crust.

Top the pie, seal, flute edges. You can do a lattice or decorative top, or a full top but be sure you cut slits in it to let the heat out.

Sealed peach pie

I made a bit of a floury mess on the counter doing that, but, hey, it cleans up.

Cover edge with foil to prevent overbrowning (you can remove during the last 15 minutes of cooking).  Then bake the pie for about 45 minutes in your 425 degree oven.

Peach pie with ice cream

I always like a little ice cream with my fruit pies!  Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

