Lemon Chiffon Pie

Food goes in and out of style, just like clothes.  For example, today, I’m having hummus with lunch, as I regularly do. I can’t imagine many people doing this in Ohio twenty years ago, though, when I was a kid. Frankly I’d never even heard of the stuff, but it’s pretty mainstream America now.

One of the reasons I started the pie-a-week experiment was finding an old recipe book with a lot of old-fashioned Chiffon pies. They use gelatin, which isn’t used quite so much in cooking as it used to be. I’ve baked a few of them but I think I finally hit the right consistency with this week’s lemon chiffon.

pie in the office

It holds together real well but tastes a lot like lemons, cream, and air, the fluff just sort of disintegrating as you eat it.  The downside to the pie, other than its lack of trendiness, is that it takes quite a few bowls to make.

First step – empty baked crust.

Empty baked crust

Not my prettiest, as I accidentally tore it a bit moving it in to the pie pan, but it should work.

Next, mix dry ingredients in a pot on the stove:

Dry ingredients

1 packet unflavored gelatin
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup sugar

wet ingredients

Mix wet ingredients:

1/3 cup fresh lemon juice
2/3 cup water
4 egg yolks

We bought extra-large eggs this week, so I only used three, and it turned out fine, but the recipe reccommends 4 if you are using large eggs.  Reserve the whites, as they will also be used.

Add wet to dry on the stove and turn on the heat. Stir constantly until the mixture just comes to a boil, then remove from the heat.

pot on stove

When it’s heated, add in

1 tsp lemon zest.

Chill this until it is just beginning to set up. It took mine about 30 minutes in the freezer, after transfer to another container.

In the mean time, you are making meringue out of the remaining egg whites, by adding another 1/2 cup sugar.

You’re also whipping up a 1/2 cup of heavy whipping cream.

See what I mean by a lot of bowls?

mixing some meringue in to the lemon filling

First mix the meringue in to the filling, followed up by the whipped cream. This is what it looks like poured in to the pie shell.

Lemon chiffon pie

Chill for about 2 hours in the fridge or until set, at which time it will look…pretty much the same.

Lemon Chiffon Pie

It’s tasty but not much of a looker I guess. If I were making it for a bake sale or something, I might top it off with another thin layer of sweet whipped cream and a lemon wedge or two.

Leave a Reply

