Banana Cream Pie

Late pies!  The reason for this is because I was saving up my baking for a school bake sale. This helps because I don’t have to eat the entire pie with just myself and my husband. 😉  This is actually however a pie  I made a few weeks ago and forgot to post, so now you will get two pies right in a row – one for my late week and one early for next week.

My husband has been buying a lot of bananas lately because they’re a quick and healthy suppliment to breakfast. So why not make a banana cream pie?

This Banana Cream Pie requires –

1 9-inch pie crust, pre-baked
4 large egg yolks
2/3 cup sugar
1/4 cup cornstarch
1/2 teaspoon salt
3 cups milk
2 tablespoons butter (softened)
2 teaspoons vanilla
2 (and a half) large bananas
1 cup whipped cream (pre-bought Cool Whip or make your own)

Bananas in pie crust

First step I am doing here is cutting up the 2 bananas and loading them in to the pie crust.  There’s another half banana up there which I will use for garnish.  But don’t chop that one up yet!

Smashing egg yolks

Here I’m smashing up the egg yolks first. You won’t use the whites, so set them aside and save them for a breakfast or something.

Dry ingredients for banana cream

Sugar, cornstarch, and salt all go on a pan on the stove.  Mix in the milk gradually and turn up the heat. Continue to stir.  It will get thick and boil. Be careful not to burn it (I did a little, as you will see in later pictures, but it turned out OK anyway).  Boil about a minute.

Making egg cream

Eggs and such

Then transfer some of the mixture in to the eggs, then the eggs in to the mixture, then back and forth and put it in your pot.

Stir in the butter and vanilla last, until the butter is totally melted in the mixture.

Banana cream in pie

Now pour all of that in to your prepared crust, covering the bananas.  (Don’t mind the rum cake, bought it a few weeks ago on a whim and I haven’t gotten around to eating it due to all the pie in my life.)  The banana flavor should seep in a bit in to the vanilla pudding while it cools.

Cover the pie with plastic wrap. Do this a bit tightly, as it prevents it from getting icky on top.  Then leave it in the fridge for a few hours or overnight, until it sets up.

In the morning you cover the pie with your whipped cream. That other half-banana I used is for garnish to indicate individual pieces.  Then eat the other half for breakfast I suppose.

And here is the pretty finished pie!

Banana Cream Pie

Leave a Reply

