Coffee Toffee Chiffon Halloween Pie for Grown-Ups

I thought this week I might come up with some kind of Halloween Pie to create, it being so close to the holiday.  The problem is that most searches for Halloween-related desserts turn up something abominably kid-oriented, as if Halloween is not to be enjoyed by adults.  I love Halloween myself, grown-up though I may technically be!  I have pumpkin and witch-shaped cookie cutters that have seen some use, but where it comes to a pie I’d rather it be yummy and flavorful than have any resemblance to Frankenstien’s Monster.

So, instead of doing any of the recipes I found, I decided to create one.  This is therefore the first pie I’ve posted that I mostly totally invented, though it’s based a bit on the chiffon recipes I have picked out of the old Betty Crocker book.  I think with this one I’ve finally mastered the formula for chiffon.  It’s creamy, but holds together well.  The pie is “Halloween” in that it takes advantage of the readily available fun-size candy bars in stores this time of year. It’s “for grown-ups” in the sense that it includes two important food groups adults love: alcohol and caffiene.  It also includes chocolate and sugar… is that all the food groups?

Coffee Toffee Chiffon Pie

The ingredients:

1 cup crushed Heath Bar (about 15 minibars is what I used, maybe a bit more than a cup)
1 cup white sugar – divided in to thirds
1 packet unflavored gelatin
1/2 cup Kahlua or other coffee liquor
1 tablespoon instant coffee (I used 3 packets of Starbucks Via, which makes about 1 tablespoon)
3 large eggs, separated
3/4 cup heavy cream
1  9 inch chocolate cookie crust (make your own or buy it)

Crushed candies

The first thing I did was crush my candy bars.  My method was to take a hammer, put the small bars on the counter, bash them a few times, then empty the results in to a bowl.

Hammer time

I call it “cooking with construction equipment.”

Now put the unflavored gelatin in a saucepot on the stove in 1/4 cup water.  Stir slightly and leave to soften.

Separated eggs

Seperate the eggs, and whisk the yolks until they are uniform consistency and lemony color.  Add 1/3 cup of sugar and whisk to blend.

Whisked eggs

Then add the instant coffee, and mix again.  It won’t quite dissolve, but that’s okay.  I don’t reccommend licking this spoon unless your really, really like coffee, as at this point the flavor was a bit too strong.

Coffee stuff

Add this mix to the softened gelatin on the stove, and also add your 1/2 cup Khalua.  Heat up slowly, at medium heat, until it just begins to boil. The coffee should dissolve by this point.  Give it another stir, then chill until partially set.  Mine took about 20 minutes in the freezer.

Meanwhile, mix up meringue using the egg whites and another 1/3 cup of the sugar.  Beat until glossy.

Coffee flavored filling

When the coffee mixture is set, take it out of the freezer, and blend in the meringue.  Now add the crushed toffee pieces.

Putting cream in the coffee

Lastly, make the whipped cream by whipping the heavy cream with the final 1/3 cup of sugar.  Blend it all together, as much or as little as you want (I kind of like some swirls) and dump it all in to the cookie crust.  I used a pre-made cookie crust because I wasn’t sure how well the rest of it would turn out. Why take chances?

Put in the fridge to set for at least 2 hours. Overnight is fine.

Cross section of my coffee toffee pie

Turned out delicious. The coffee flavor is strong, but the bits of toffee and chocolate offset it just right. You really need the chocolate bits for crunch and flavor on this. You might be able to cut back on the instant coffee or coffee liquor depending on how strong you like it.

Leave a Reply

