Candy Cane Pie

This is a busy time of year! So while I have been baking, I haven’t been blogging.

I’m going to catch you up this week with two pies (one for the previous week).

This one is a festive pie I somewhat invented based on the recipe for a Grasshopper Pie.

I wouldn’t call it a super-duper success because it’s a little overly sweet, though I also baked two dozen very rich chocolate cupcakes for the party I made this for and those tended to disappear faster, so maybe it was just sweets overload!

Here’s how to make it, anyway.

Crust:
1 1/2 cups crushed chocolate cookies
1/2 stick of unsalted butter, melted

Filling:
3 cups marshmallows
1/2 cup milk
1/4 cup creme de menthe liquor
1 cup heavy cream
red food coloring (optional)

Topping:
Reserved crushed cookies
Crushed candy cane

First make your chocolate cookie crust by crushing chocolate cookies and mixing in the melted butter. Press in to pie tin and bake at 350 degrees for about 10 minutes.

 

I used chocolate animal crackers this time.  Prepare to blend, cute animals!

Reserve some crushed cookies for topping if you want.

I also smashed two candy canes as additional garnish.  More Cooking with Construction Equipment!

Now for filling:

Melt the marshmallows on the stove in the 1/2 cup milk, stirring constantly so it doesn’t burn.

Then put the melted goo in to the fridge for about 20 minutes. Stir periodically.  It’s set up when it starts to mound when lifted with the spoon.

Whip the heavy cream until it is fully whipped.

Blend the whipped cream in the creme de menthe and the marshmallow mixture, then pour in to the pie crust.

I added about a teaspoon full of mint extract to taste. Other recipes add creme de cacao here, but I wanted a pure mint flavor. May have been too powerful; I am uncertain. But do what works.

You can call it good here. Put it in the fridge, garnish as desired, serve when set.

I tried something a little extra, which is putting a little reserved filling aside, mixing in the red food coloring, and trying to swirl the top together.

It was a first attempt. Didn’t maybe quite work out.  I often underestimate the power of red food color.

Candy Cane Pie

Looks sorta festive with the candy cane bits, though.

Leave a Reply

