Chocolate Brandy Pie

A Pie Tin

This is the last pie I’ll make for Pie-A-Week.

Thanks to anyone who enjoyed this experiment!  I think mostly my husband benefited from it, since he got a lot of pie, but it also gave me a year to refine my baking techniques!  I’ll be adding additional posts to this blog as they come up, detailing other cooking projects I do, roundups of what I’ve learned, and other stuff, though it may not happen on a weekly basis.

Graham Crackers

This pie took a Graham Cracker crust.  This can easily be store-bought, but this time I made my own by pulverizing the crackers in the food processor, adding some butter, and pressing into the pan.  Bake for about 10 minutes to firm it up.

Crust

My post-Christmas kitchen was such a mess. It’s better now, honest.

This pie has two main flavors:

cocoa

Cocoa

and Brandy

and Brandy

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And the filling was easy, as it’s mostly made in the blender.

Ingredient layers

Here we have the layered look of all the ingredients for the filling:

1/2 cup butter
2 eggs
1 cup sugar
1 5oz can evaporated milk
1 tsp vanilla
3 tbsp brandy
3 1/2 tbsp cocoa powder

Blended up

Here it is all blended up.

pour into crust

Pour in to crust…

Chocolate Brandy Pie

Bake at 325 degrees for 50 minutes.  Serve with whipped cream. It has a nice brownie-like consistency with a little brandy bite.

So turns out a very popular present to buy for me this Christmas was baking stuff… to make cupcakes…  So I don’t think that giving up on baking projects will be happening any time soon!  Not sure I’m really ready to take the plunge on cupcake-a-week.

Happy 2011!

Leave a Reply

